Successor-Designate Daisuke Nakayama Installed as Fifth President of the Young Men’s Association

On August 25, Tenrikyo Young Men’s Association held a special assembly—during which the Shinbashira announced his retirement from his position as the association’s president—and unanimously nominated Successor-Designate Daisuke Nakayama as the new president. Association Chairman Masanao Nakayama then visited the Shinbashira’s residence, where he asked the nominee to accept the nomination and obtained his consent. Following the assembly, the association’s monthly meeting was held with the new president in attendance.

The special assembly, held in the lecture hall in East Right Wing 1 of the Oyasato-yakata building-complex, was attended by approximately three hundred members including chairmen of directly supervised chapters and diocese chapters as well as the association headquarters’ staff members. Besides deciding the nomination of the new president, the assembly saw the Shinbashira deliver his last address as president.

He first mentioned that the Young Men’s Association will observe its 100th anniversary two years after the 130th Anniversary of Oyasama. He then shared his thoughts on retiring from the presidency, saying, “In anticipation of the association’s significant juncture, I have become convinced that the association should make a fresh start and promote its activities with a new president.” After expressing his gratitude to the successive association headquarters’ chairmen, committee members, and association members for their support, he referred to the resignation address of his predecessor—the third Shinbashira, Zenye Nakayama—who had asked all the members to give full expression to the qualities and abilities befitting “pioneers of the path” by engaging in activities to spread the teachings. The Shinbashira then told the listeners that he shares the same wish as his predecessor.

Also, noting that each chapter is carrying out its pre-anniversary activities by working toward its goals under the slogan “Let’s build momentum for salvation,” the Shinbashira expressed his hope for the members to work as befits “pioneers of the path” in the second half of the pre-anniversary season and furthermore to keep the momentum in their activities related to the association’s 100th anniversary.

Lastly, he mentioned that this year marks the 60th year since the founding of the Young Men’s Association Hinokishin Corps, which has been providing great opportunities for young people to deepen their faith. After asking the listeners to continue their efforts to organize the Hinokishin Corps, he concluded his address by wishing the association continued success and development. In response to the Shinbashira, Association Chairman Masanao Nakayama made a pledge on behalf of all the association members, and all present sang the association song to conclude the proceedings.

Later, at the association’s monthly meeting, Successor-Designate Daisuke Nakayama delivered his inaugural address as the new president. Regarding the fact that his installation coincided with the season leading up to the 130th Anniversary of Oyasama and the year of the 60th anniversary of the Hinokishin Corps as well as the third Shinbashira’s passing away for rebirth, he said he feels that God the Parent and Oyasama are telling him that Arakitoryo, pioneers of the path, should play an ever greater role in enhancing the pre-anniversary activities. He went on to say that he will exert his utmost effort to fulfill his responsibilities following the instructions of the Shinbashira and bring joy to God the Parent, Oyasama, and the late third Shinbashira. He closed his address by asking the listeners to make continued efforts to help and support the association.

Association Chairman Masanao Nakayama then took the podium to announce that the association’s 90th convention is to be held on October 27, 2014, commemorating the installation of the fifth president as well as the 60th anniversary of the founding of the Hinokishin Corps. He called for an increase in the number of members who participate in the convention.

Share this article:

Comments are closed.